Moshe Ladanga

1W7- Bringing it all together

with 3 comments

2ndtutorial-wholemixed.jpg

Katrin and I had a joint tutorial with Andy last Thursday, October 18, 2007. It was quite interesting, the fact that he gave us these forms to fill up; we ended writing on each other’s forms. When I look at what I picked up and what Katrin picked up, it gave me a context of collaboration. I tried to sort of illustrate it above as artifacts of correspondence, an exchange that we want for the project. There are salient points.

2ndtutorial-detail01.jpg

What became clear to me was there were no boundaries in terms of creativity, and the correspondence becomes clear when we are conscious of our individuality. To start off the collaboration, we decided to talk about something mundane, like all conversations. The point here is we have to be aware of the organic nature of collaboration, and we can’t force a big topic or theme on our work.

where-is-collaboration.jpg

The collaboration is in the exchange of metamedia- images, soundtracks, techniques that represent ideas, emotions. It is in this process where we mix media (reacting to each other’s blog posts, passing around soundtracks, video, photographs, etc.) that the collaboration happens.

project-structure.jpg

By observing and following Jem Mackay’s suggestion of never saying no, the collaboration actively becomes the structure for the project. The similarities, differences, references and hopefully a dynamic interplay of meaningful resonance will arise.

keep-idea-simple.jpg

The idea being like letters, like a chat, like a breath of a few words- there must be a clarity, a coherence of not necessarily what we say to each other, but the dynamic between each other’s work.

tension.jpg

There must be tension, and it must be obvious I think. It can be in how we present it (will come in next posts), and also with how we create- our voices should be distinct.

deeper-collab.jpg

The collaboration will become deeper if there is a reflection on what we say; meaning the conversation grows as thought grows. This will take a certain pace, a rhythm. I have to be keen on how the process develops, and most importantly, on what Katrin says. As they say, listening is 99% of a good conversation.

examine-techniques.jpg

Andy gave this wonderful piece of advice: do something you thought you’d never do. I’m planning to learn 3D Animation and programming. Maybe the live video element won’t be the main thing in my visual vocabulary. This I find very interesting. I’ve viewed my video work and my drawings, and I realized that I wanted to be able to depict a depth of perspective in my work. The drawings are headed in that direction; what I’m seeing now is live semi-abstracted video elements moving in 3dimensional space, like a mass of blurred obfuscated bodies trudging through a heaving forest of lines (like my Camden drawing). Or like a high angle shot of phantom legs with their veins and organs pulsing with sound as their feet disappear into visual thuds of steps- reminds me of my storyboards.

be-really-free.jpg

experiment.jpg

To open the mind, to learn continuously- a mantra I’ve learned ever since I started this course. In Manovich’s paper on the current trend of new media towards hybridity, he describes how artists are now exploring the potential of remixing. What I felt was, beyond the description of this phenomena and the theory of hybridity, a definitive grasp of what we can do as artists in this digital age. Call it frontierism, put a silver helmet on my head and brand me a conquistadore, but there lies a palette of skills and techniques that enables us to create art that will make its own territory.

bring-your-culture.jpg

Andy said the most revealing thing to us during the tutorial. It is important for us to come from who we are as Filipinos, to be not afraid to speak from our own cultural context. He said that Western art is boring, and our Asian heritage is a far richer culture. That enables me to create from who I know I am- a sensibility that comes from the mixture of a more reflective context, an art practice rooted in the expression of ideas about the mundane, the cosmic, the cyclical. This is a great relief.

 

 

 

Written by mosheladanga

October 23, 2007 at 7:28 AM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree with what you said. This is so strange. Writing to you on your blog, when you are right behind me…in the same room. It is strangely intimate, and also new. I feel that this process is deepening our relationship…both artistically and personally. It reminds me of what Rilke was talking about…to be in solitude with someone. This is something I’ve always wanted…and strangely enough am getting it through this work.

    Responding to your comment on my page, I do agree that the ‘authorship dagger’ hanging above our heads is insane. I would like the freedom to totally express ourselves upon the work, I feel that it is in solitude that my ideas become fully whole. But I also believe that the power will lay in the documentation of the the work as it is passed from your hand to mine. Almost like a ball tossed from you to me…

    It is the evolution that excites me…through remixing, you put an imprint of yourself on the work…and I think it is the changes that you make upon it that will identify you from me. The line where you end and I begin and vice versa must be clear. How we’ll do this? I don’t know…Maybe you’ve got some ideas?

    Awaiting your next letter…this is fun:)

    karagatan

    October 24, 2007 at 9:08 PM

  2. […] I responded to his comment on my tutorial, by posting my comment unto his […]

  3. I’ve been reading the Manovich book, and it touches on the authorship issues concerning New Media. It is a bugger, because almost all of the technology (if not all) arose from industrialization and commercialization. Yet we, as artists in this digital age are very aware of the flipside of this- we now have the capability to create our work that will traverse all platforms. The digital realm is a paradoxical one; we have the freedom, but we have to swim in this sea. For our own purposes, we can continue this mode of discussion- even the term pingback is so apt, though a bit 80’s, so ATARI- hahaha!

    mosheladanga

    October 28, 2007 at 8:08 AM


Leave a Reply

